jump to navigation

Black Friday poll date for Fiji August 16, 2007

Posted by Ricardo Morris in Politics.
trackback

Commodore Frank Bainimarama, Fiji’s army chief and self-imposed prime minister, has out of the blue named a date for when Fiji is to hold general elections – and it’s a Black Friday.

Bainimarama told journalists on Wednesday, the country is to go to the polls on March 13, 2009 at 10am.

But perhaps not taking him seriously, the mainstream media did not play it up much. The Fiji Times reported it on page five today, while a rugby story occupied the front page.

Bainimarama’s sudden preciseness was lost on most of the media – only the Fiji Times reported his comments, until it was picked up by the radio stations this morning.

Bainimarama has previously been vague on an exact date for an election. After the joint Pacific Islands Forum-Fiji Working Group on the return to democracy released its report in June suggesting Fiji could go to elections as early as the last quarter of 2008 or the first quarter of 2009, Bainimarama only went so far as to say the interim regime had accepted the report “in principle.”

Apart from the little omen of elections being scheduled for a Black Friday (and as far as my young mind can recall, Fiji’s elections have begun on a Saturday), a constitutional expert has labelled the date as unrealistic.

Dr Brij Lal, one of the framers of the 1997 Constitution, expressed “deep doubts” to Radio Australia because the mechanisms for an election had not even got under way, including the filling of the top posts.

He said the Supervisor of Elections was yet to be appointed, a census has not been conducted, the electoral roll not yet updated, and the Constitutional Boundaries Commission not appointed.

The national census will be held in mid-September, while no word has come yet of the other electoral appointments.

Lal said while Bainimarama has continually spoken of the “pre-conditions” before an election could be held, including the completion of his “clean-up campaign” of the government bureaucracy, and the Fiji Labour Party saying last week an election was not a priority, he was baffled by the sudden announcement.

“I think there is something else that is driving the interim administration,” Lal told Radio Australia.

Perhaps that something else is pressure on the cash-strapped regime to commit to a date.

In March, Fiji’s military-led regime promised the European Union it would make a firm commitment to a return to democracy in return for promised aid amounting to some 200m euros (about $430m at today’s rates) for the sugar industry and other areas.

Semesa Karavaki, the sacked supervisor of elections, told the Fiji Times Online there was more to an election than the announcement of a date.

If Fiji does indeed to the polls on March 13, 2009 it will be two years and three months since Bainimarama seized power on December 5, 2006.

Comments»

1. The biggest joker of them all « Dateline Dispatch - August 20, 2007

[…] Last week, after persistent questioning by journalists, he said Fiji would go to the polls at 10am on March 13, 2009, a Black Friday. The date was duly reported by Fiji Times Online the same day. (See earlier Dateline post here.) […]

2. Katrin - December 18, 2012

you’re really a good webmaster. The web site loading speed is amazing. It seems that you’re doing any unique trick.
Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a fantastic job on this topic!

3. http://sharronpillot.metroblog.com/ - January 3, 2013

Howdy! I just would like to offer you a huge thumbs up
for your excellent information you’ve got right here on this post. I am returning to your site for more soon.

Ann - September 9, 2014

Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse
your website on my iphone during lunch break.
I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t
wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my
phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways,
very good site!

4. helprx.Info - March 14, 2013

Your current report provides confirmed necessary to me.
It’s extremely informative and you are
obviously quite experienced in this area. You possess popped my own face to different opinion of this particular subject
along with interesting and solid content.

5. Jewell - April 11, 2013

Word urge on also has a All-inclusive for representative, can
you advice on how to be dependable on the route. You’ll desire to blue-pencil the you can narrate your quarry securities industry how to do. They plant that because unrecorded blogging journalists work so fast – not for nurture taxes for anything.

6. Naomi - April 11, 2013

Green Royal was the outset covered mall in to connect and participate in Blogging communities.

In the price of oops, she dropped the “F” bomb and they but
bleeped her. They are the same time, she fears it, specially when it comes to sexual love.

7. Skip to primary content - April 28, 2013

It’s an remarkable paragraph in support of all the web viewers; they will take advantage from it I am sure.

8. Diego - May 1, 2013

I seriously love your site.. Very nice colors & theme.
Did you create this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own personal site and want to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Kudos!

9. difference between hydroponics bubbleponics - May 3, 2013

hydroponics nutrients recipe

10. Natural Cleanse Diet - May 3, 2013

Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this,
like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog.
A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

11. Diet Patches - May 12, 2013

Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m
absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

12. http://slimlipoplusdiet.com - May 12, 2013

Hey there, You have done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited
from this website.

13. xanga.com - May 18, 2013

Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning
this write-up plus the rest of the site is extremely good.

14. Marti - May 19, 2013

naturally like your web-site but you have to take a look
at the spelling on several of your posts. Several of
them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very
bothersome to inform the reality then again I will surely come again
again.

15. Like This - May 23, 2013

I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog readers have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

16. http://slimlipoplusdiet.com - May 23, 2013

Hello there, I found your site by means of Google while looking for a comparable topic, your website
got here up, it seems good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

Hello there, simply became alert to your blog
through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m
going to be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful should you proceed this in future. A lot of other people shall be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

17. Georgitte - May 23, 2013

Why people still use to read news papers when in this technological world everything is presented on net?

18. Paleo Plan - May 28, 2013

Clearly that’s a problem with our society and the paleo for athletes generally. With our bodies fully adjusted to the paleo for athletes I have no doubts we would be full and satisfied at every meal! First off, we are not supposed to literally eat like cavemen and cavewomen of course. Obviously I got a little spice happy so you can add or omit any of them that you like to make it more or less spicy.

19. Green Detox Reviews - June 27, 2013

Awesome! Its in fact amazing paragraph, I have got
much clear idea about from this paragraph.

20. try this website - August 28, 2013

Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

21. Chinese Teen horny - September 6, 2013

Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of
the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m
certainly happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking itt and checking back frequently!

22. 高品質 専営店 - November 3, 2013

Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it
but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand
over time.

23. エド ハーディー ジャケット 通販 - November 5, 2013

I have been browsing online more than 3 hours as of late, but
I by no means found any interesting article like yours.
It is lovely worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all
site owners and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the
internet can be a lot more useful than ever before.

24. Houston - November 23, 2013

Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and
I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give
something back and aid others like you aided me.

25. easy piano lessons online - April 16, 2014

This piece of writing provides clear idea in favor of the new viewers of blogging, that genuinely how to do running a blog.

26. Coach Hire Welwyn Garden City - September 3, 2014

No matter if some one searches for his essential thing, so he/she needs to be available
that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here.

27. car disposal Hertford - September 8, 2014

This post provides clear idea designed for the new people of blogging,
that really how to do blogging and site-building.

28. Damaris - September 14, 2014

Hello to every , because I am genuinely keen of reading this weblog’s post to be updated daily.
It consists of pleasant material.

29. cash 1234 system - April 30, 2015

It’s hard to come by experienced people for this subject, however,
you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
Thanks

30. Pro Muscle Fit - May 17, 2015

Thanks for finally writing about >Black Friday poll date for Fiji
| Dateline Dispatch <Liked it!

31. custom tee - May 20, 2015

Really when someone doesn’t be aware of afterward its up to other viewers
that they will assist, so here it takes place.

32. CLeanse Body Pro Supplement - June 26, 2015

What’s up, I check your blog like every week. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep up the good work!

33. My website - August 24, 2016

There is certainly a lot to learn about this subject.
I love all of the points you have made.


Leave a comment